presence detector in house using smartphone

8 years 7 months ago #2183 by rajbadri
hi
is it possible to get a tutorial for presence detection from a persons smartphone ip address or mac address. we can use it to trigger other automation scripts.
The following user(s) said Thank You: osalval

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #2189 by NightOne
Very good idea..... I read your post yesterday and tried to get it to work with EasyIOT.... I am a total newbie at coding so please forgive the code ;)

I have set up as a cron job to run every couple of minutes to ping my phone when my Alarm value is Off.... I suppose I can get it to run all the time and set the Alarm on and off whenever the phone is pingable but I want to to able to set the Alarm to ON at night and the phone will also be pingable so I dont want it to automatically turn the alarm off just beacuse the phone is pingable.

UPDATE: I noticed that sometimes I get false possitives when I am walking around the house cause I have a wifi extender and when my phone hopes to the extender and a ping happens at the same time then I get a false possitive... So I have added a loop to the ping so that it pings 3 times with a 3 second interval between pings to make the system more resilent to movement. I have also added an update where it also sends a notification to my phone that the alarm has been activated.

Here is the second try at the code:

public void Setup()
{
}

public void Run()
{
Console.WriteLine("Ping Test Program was Started");
ModuleParameter p = ModuleHelper.GetProperty(Domains.VIRTUAL, "N18S0", "Sensor.DigitalValue");

if (p.Value == "0")
{
int pingAttempts = 0;
int maxPingAttempts = 3;

System.Net.NetworkInformation.Ping PingSender = new System.Net.NetworkInformation.Ping();
System.Net.NetworkInformation.PingReply pingReply;
Console.WriteLine("Ping Test Program is Running");

// Loop until the first successful call or 3 failed attempts