Getting Sunset and sunrise data automatically

8 years 7 months ago #2263 by vickeyhort
Hi Friends

I want to get the sunset and sunrise time (Only Hour) from following api
sunrise-sunset.org/api

I will use this data to update "Sensor.LightLevel" values on a virtual node and mysensors node will get this value through another automation script I already have.

May someone help me to get this information? I have no experience with C#. I only want sunrise hour and sunset hour of my location as variable to update "Sensor.LightLevel" values of my virtual node. Thanks
The following user(s) said Thank You: osalval

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #2264 by NightOne
Here is something for you to get started with:

Big thanks to medyk8ns on the forum for enabling the newtonsoft json call.
Code starts here:

private System.Reflection.MethodInfo _deserializeObjectMethodInfo;
public System.Reflection.MethodInfo DeserializeObjectMethodInfo
{
get
{
if (_deserializeObjectMethodInfo == null)
{
var assembly = System.Reflection.Assembly.LoadFrom("Newtonsoft.Json.dll");
var jobjectType = assembly.GetType("Newtonsoft.Json.JsonConvert");
_deserializeObjectMethodInfo = jobjectType.GetMethods().SingleOrDefault(m => m.Name == "DeserializeObject" && !m.IsGenericMethod && m.ReturnType==typeof(object) && m.GetParameters().Count()==1);
//can also use Parse method from JObject
//var jobjectType = assembly.GetType("Newtonsoft.Json.Linq.JObject");
//_deserializeObjectMethodInfo= jobjectType.GetMethod("Parse");
}
return _deserializeObjectMethodInfo;
}
}

public void Run()
{
{

using (System.Net.WebClient webClient = new System.Net.WebClient())
{
System.Net.WebClient n = new System.Net.WebClient();
var json = n.DownloadString(" api.sunrise-sunset.org/json?lat=36.72016...tted=0&date=tomorrow ");
dynamic valueOriginal = DeserializeObjectMethodInfo.Invoke(this, new object[] { json });